If I you could have a super power what would it be? At some point in time, most people are asked this. Some people would choose to have the ability to fly, while others may choose the ability to read minds. My super power of choice would be the ability to control time and space. This preference first began when I was a kid and watched the TV show Out of This World (2:53). The main character  Ethel Garland, a half-alien/half-human living in California, had the ability to freeze time by touching her two fingers together and unfreezing time by clapping. I thought it was so cool. I often would daydream about having this ability and think how handy it would be to have in daily routines. (Who am I kidding? I would daydream about all the stuff I could do and get away with!) Although if Evie accidentally touched someone, they too would “unfreeze” and realize she had powers. On top of this awesome power, Evie also had the ability to teleport, by snapping her fingers. Radical.

Another TV character which fed my desire for this power was the iconic Zack Morris from “Saved by the Bell”. Who didn’t love his ability to “time-out” and “time-in” at any given moment? AND he could touch anyone without “unfreezing” him or her. That’s one up to Zack Morris! Sorry Evie, but your half-alien heritage gains you an incomparable status.

TV character #3: Sabrina Spellman (4:30) from the show “Sabrina the Teenage Witch”. I recall a few episodes where Sabrina froze time or went back in time to undo an occurrence, change the future, or gain extra study time for Mr. Rockwell’s math test. Definitely had daydreams where I had that ability during some of my own tests…stratosphere is below mesosphere damn it! Other than that S.S didn’t have much of an impact.

The most recent character that further sparked my notion that “time-control” is one of the best super powers is Hiro Nakamura from the show “Heroes”. He is able to freeze time, speed it up, slow it down, go back in time, go forward in time and teleport around the world. Just think of all the time and money on travel expenses you’d save. In a less practical mind-set, think of all the places you could go!

Now, I know what some of you are thinking. Time travel is very dangerous you can alter the future, yada yada yada- but it would be different for me 😉

As such, I would sum up my powers like so:
1) Keep Evie’s style of finger touching to freeze time, clap to unfreeze

2) Have Zack Morris’s ability to come into contact with others, without accidentally unfreezing them, thus exposing them to my secret. BUT have the choice to unfreeze anyone, like Evie.

3) Ability to teleport, like Hiro, but I would be better at it and not get lost somewhere in time and space unable to find my coffee shop love interest.
3b) Ability to teleport with someone (must be touching him or her).

4) When time traveling-no body doubles like in the movie Primer . This would prevent the risk and altering the future (I think). Although I don’t think I would time travel too much, I much prefer the idea of freezing time, speeding it up and teleportation.

5) Invisibility would be handy for this power too, especially if I would literally be popping out of thin air. Having the option of time traveling or teleportation while invisible would give allow me to observe events or people without possibly altering future events.

There are so many other attributes to add, but I’ll leave it at this for now and encourage you to share your ideal super powers.

