This may be a stupid question to ask, but who here has experienced déjà vu? I always find it crazy when it happens, especially when it involves the most trivial things. Now this occurred quite a few weeks ago, but throughout the day my friend Brad and I experienced déjà vu at least 4 times. It all involved talks that we’d not normally discuss and when it came to the second time around for each of the talks it was with someone completely random (a lot of whom I had just met that day and who had brought up the topic all on their own). Repeated discussions, similar events which we had experienced, and obscure opinions we shared were among the déjà vu episodes. I’m pretty sure Brad and I both used the phrase “This day is freaking me out!!!” ….more than once twice.

So why does déjà vu happen? If memory serves me correctly (from psych class back in Uni), one theory states that déjà vu simply results when one part of the brain processing something before another part of the brain. But, this more so pertains to a déjà vu episode that immediately follows the initial experience. This does not account for mine and Brad’s experience where episodes happened hours later….or does it? Could our brains be that much slower?…nah- just kidding. I also remember reading another theory that states, déjà vu simply happens when a memory is being “recalled”. I guess that would be the case for us. Still, I can help but get an eerie yet, “cool” vibe when it happens, and think about how often it happens and with all sorts of individuals, some of which you did not know before (like in my case) or with two sets of people whom you wouldn’t normally draw comparisons. The Sociology student is coming out again. It’s interesting how similar we can be- how we think, how we act and so forth. A lot can contribute to this, hello Nature vs. Nurture debate! (I won’t go into this…for now). This blog is pretty much a babble.

Today I experienced another episode. Early this morning, a coworker had brought up the movie “Office Space” to explain a situation, than hours later I was talking to my friend Graydon who also brought up “Office Space”. Sure, it was different scene, but still weird and random. Similar thought patterns, associating their own work situation to that of “Office Space”; I know I know A LOT of people do this, but I still found it random.

In a way my déjà vu experience today reminded me of my déjà vu experience from a few weeks ago. Am I freaking you out yet? . [cue “Twilight Zone” theme]  😉

